How Many Law School Chairs are Named After Women?

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook

School Name of Chair Name of Current Holder
Berekely Elizabeth Josselyn Boalt Professor of Law Kristin Luker
Berkeley Herma Hill Kay Distinguished Professor of Law Kathryn Abrams
Berkeley Claire Sanders Clements Dean’s Chair Professor of Law Malcolm M. Feeley
Berkeley Barbara Nachtrieb Armstrong Professor of Law Herma Hill Kay
Chicago Ruth Wyatt Rosenson Distinguished Service Professor of Law R. H. Helmholz
Columbia Barbara Aronstein Black Professor of Law Carol Sanger
Duke Kathrine Robinson Everett Professor of Law Kimberly D. Krawiec
NYU Emily Kempin Professor of Law Amy M. Adler
NYU Norma Z. Paige Professor of Law Jennifer H. Arlen
NYU Pauline Newman Professor of Law Rochelle C. Dreyfuss
NYU Catherine A. Rein Professor of Law Cynthia Estlund
NYU Sheila Lubetsky Birnbaum Professor of Civil Litigation Mark Geistfeld
NYU Crystal Eastman Professor of Law Stephen Gillers
NYU Elizabeth K. Dollard Professor of Law, Medicine and Psychiatry Sylvia A. Law
NYU Inez Milholland Professor of Civil Liberties Burt Neuborne
Pitt Sally Ann Semenko Chair Arthur Hellman
Pitt Bessie McKee Walthour Endowed Chair Jules Lobel
Yale Anne Urowsky Visiting Professor of Law Rotates
Yale Elizabeth K. Dollard Professor of Law Dan Kahan

last updated 5/6/2011

This entry was posted in Law Schools, The Underrepresentation of Women. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Many Law School Chairs are Named After Women?

  1. Tony Infanti says:

    At Pitt Law, we have only a very small number of endowed chairs (if memory serves, three right now and a fourth that has just been created and is only now being filled). Two of them are named after women. The Sally Ann Semenko Chair is held by Arthur Hellman. There is also a Bessie McKee Walthour Endowed Chair that was held by Welsh White prior to his death. It is now occupied by Jules Lobel.

  2. ellie63105 says:

    There are no chairs exclusively named after women at Harvard:
    1. William J. Friedman and Alicia Townsend Friedman Professor of Law, Economics, and Finance/ Lucian A. Bebchuk
    2. Jack N. and Lillian R. Berkman Professor for Entrepreneurial Legal Studies/ Yochai Benkle
    3. Carroll and Milton Petrie Professor of Law/ Einer R. Elhauge
    4. Howard J. and Katherine W. Aibel Professor of Law/ Carol Steiker

  3. ilpc says:

    Mary Anne Richey Professor of Law at James E. Rogers School of Law, University of Arizona. Held by Prof. Barbara Ann Atwood

  4. ilpc says:

    Also, from Faculty Lounge today: “Professor Jane Campbell Moriarty from the University of Akron School of Law has been appointed to the inaugural Carol Los Mansmann Chair in Faculty Scholarship at Duquesne University.”

Comments are closed.