CFP: “Institutional Responsibility for Sex and Gender Exploitation”

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook

From the FLP mailbox:

Call for Papers Announcement

AALS Section on Women in Legal Education

“Institutional Responsibility for Sex and Gender Exploitation”

2013 AALS Annual Meeting

January 4-7, 2013

New Orleans, Louisiana                             

The AALS Section on Women in Legal Education will hold a program during the AALS 2013 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, with paper presentations on the topic of Institutional Responsibility for Sex and Gender Exploitation.  We have the below committed moderator and speakers, and are seeking paper submissions to fill the fifth speaker slot.  The papers will be published as a Symposium in the Iowa Journal of Gender, Race & Justice.

 Moderator: Professor Cheryl Wade

 Protection for Children in Club Sports (Professor Ellen Bublick)

Theories to Holding Insurance Companies Liable for Third Party Exploitation (Dean Jay Mootz)

Employer Liability for Family Responsibilities Discrimination    (Professor Joan Williams)

Finding Institutional Tort Responsibility for Sex and Gender Exploitation        (Professor Deleso A. Alford)

Submissions should be of scholarship relating to the topic of Institutional Responsibility for Sex and Gender Exploitation, but they can be on any dimension or strand of the general topic.  There is a maximum 25,000 word limit (inclusive of footnotes) for the submission. People submitting papers for consideration must be willing to have the paper published as part of the symposium, if the author is selected as the fifth speaker for the panel. Each professor may submit only one paper for consideration.

Papers will be reviewed anonymously. The manuscript should be accompanied by a cover letter with the author’s name and contact information. The manuscript itself, including title page and footnotes, must not contain any references that identify the author or the author’s school. The submitting author is responsible for taking any steps necessary to redact self-identifying text or footnotes.

To be considered, papers must be submitted electronically to Professor Kirsten Davis, Stetson University College  of Law,  The deadline for submission is Wednesday, August 1, 2012. The author of the selected paper will be notified by October 1, 2012.  The Call for Paper participant will be responsible for paying his or her own annual meeting registration fee and travel expenses.

Full-time faculty members of AALS member law schools are eligible to submit papers. Foreign, visiting (and not full-time on a different faculty), and adjunct faculty members, graduate students, and fellows are not eligible to submit.

Papers will be selected after review by an ad hoc committee composed of Section Executive Committee members.

Any inquiries about the Call for Papers should be submitted to:  Professor Kirsten Davis, Stetson University College of Law, , or 727-562-7877.

-Bridget Crawford


This entry was posted in Call for Papers or Participation. Bookmark the permalink.