Herma Hill Kay Receives AALS Section on Women in Legal Education Ruth Bader Ginsburg Lifetime Achievement Award for 2015

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook

From the mailbox:

The AALS Section on Women in Legal Education is delighted to announce that Professor Herma Hill Kay, the Barbara Nachtrieb Armstrong Professor of Law at UC Berkeley School of Law, is the 2015 recipient of the AALS Section on Women in Legal Education Ruth Bader Ginsburg Lifetime Achievement Award.  Professor Kay is the third recipient of this award; the first award went to Justice Ginsburg in 2013, and the second was given to Professor Catharine MacKinnon in 2014.

Professor Kay’s nominators described her this way:

In her fifty-plus years at Berkeley, Herma has been an award-winning teacher, a productive scholar, a generous colleague, and an inspiring leader.  . . . Appointed dean of the law school in 1992, she was the first woman in the school’s history to serve in this capacity.  She has served on boards and committees for almost every significant legal academic institution in the country, including the AALS, which she served as President in 1989.  . . . Beyond her excellent teaching and support of students, Herma is currently finishing a book on the first fourteen women law professors in the United States.  She also continues as a principal author on two casebooks: Text, Cases and Materials on Sex-Based Discrimination (Ruth Bader Ginsburg was one of her original co-authors) and Conflict of Laws: Cases-Comments-Questions.  . . . Herma was an active participant in the women’s rights movement.  As a member of Governor Edmund Brown’s Commission on the Family, she paved the way for California’s adoption of a no-fault divorce statute in 1969, and later served as co-reporter of the Uniform Marriage and Divorce Act.  Herma was also active in the passage of California’s therapeutic abortion statute and testified in favor of California’s ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment.   Herma has generated opportunities for generations of Berkeley Law graduates, men as well as women, to engage in legal activism on behalf of women and other underrepresented groups.  Indeed, to honor Herma’s legacy at Berkeley and in the profession, in 1999 the Boalt Hall Women’s Association established the Herma Hill Kay Fellowships.  For over ten years, the fellowships have been used to encourage and support public interest work benefitting women. . . .  Throughout her career, Herma has been a pioneer, blazing a trail for all women in the legal academy.

The Section will present Professor Kay with her award at the Annual Meeting Section Luncheon in Washington, D.C., on Saturday, January 3, 2015, from 12:15 to 1:30 p.m. at the Marriott Park Wardman Hotel.   We are happy to note that Justice Ginsburg is also scheduled to be at the luncheon to formally accept the award she received in 2013.  We hope that you will be able to attend.

Thank you to all who nominated individuals for the award.  We had a large number of wonderful nominations; it was a pleasure to read about the many valuable contributions of Section members.

Congratulations again to Professor Kay!

The AALS Section on Women in Legal Education Executive Committee

Kirsten Davis, Chair

Wendy Greene, Chair-Elect

Bridget Crawford, Immediate Past-Chair

Rebecca Zietlow, Secretary

Kerri Stone, Treasurer

Cindy Fountaine, Member-At-Large

This entry was posted in Academia, Feminist Legal Scholarship, Feminists in Academia, Law Schools, Law Teaching, Legal Profession. Bookmark the permalink.